The Curious Charms of Arthur Pepper

Written by Phaedra Patrick

Curious Charms.PNG

5-stars

I cannot think of a way to say this that is not pun-y and obnoxious.  So I will just come up with it.  This book charmed me to the soles of my feet, and the more that time goes by, the more I fall in love with its memory.  I wish I could read it again for the first time.

This is the story of Arthur Pepper, a man who has lost his wife.  While clearing out her closet, Arthur finds a charm bracelet inside of a shoe.  He sets out on a quest to find out about the bracelet and the wife he may not have known as well as he thought.


The Good

Arthur is the heart of this book, and he is a lovely, lovely person.  He could have been sad or pitiable.  Since my grandfather passed away, I am easily led into weepy territory.  Yet, Arthur, even in his saddest state, is the type of person you root for.  He helps you to see the ordinary in an extraordinary way.  He made me feel loved and cared for and hopeful.

This was also a lovely, quirky book, a book you want to be English.  This book is a quiet adventure.  It made me smile and it made me dream.  This book made me happy to be a part of this world.  I could go on, but I think you should just read it.


The Not-So-Good

I really cannot identify a thing about this book that I did not love.  Not a single, solitary thing.  Every single word made me feel.


Final Thoughts

This book is a ray of sunshine.  Arthur Pepper is the sort of person that you want to encounter in your life, and his adventures will make you smile.  Silly and serious at the same time, this book strikes perfect harmony.  It is the sort of book that will make your next read seem slightly duller, no matter how good it is.

Leave a Reply

