Devotion: An Epic Story of Heroism, Friendship, and Sacrifice

Written by Adam Makos

devotion

5-stars

In honor of World Book Day, I wanted to review what may be the best book I’ve read in the last few years.  There are a few that were close, but when people ask me to recommend a book, this has been my number one.

Devotion is the kind of book that makes you rethink your impression of nonfiction.  Makos crafts his incredible story in a way that builds tension and suspension. I found myself inspired and humbled throughout every single page.  The story of Tom Hudner and Jesse Brown is incredible in itself, but Makos is as good as Laura Hillenbrand (Seabiscuit, Unbroken) at writing something that seems resonant, unbelievable, and inspiring all at the same time.

Devotion is the story of Tom Hudner and Jesse Brown, two fighter pilots during the Korean War.  Now, if you’ve looked through this blog, I am clearly drawn to stories of WWII, but I don’t know much about Korea.  The jacket spoke to me on some level because I know little about this war, and am fairly certain that I’ve never read anything about it.

The first thing that struck me was the impact the Korean War has had on our world.  I would bet that many people are like me and know very little about it.  Makos does a great job of giving a history and political science lesson in a way that is easily digested.  He never feels preachy or condescending, so don’t think that.  Instead, it is informative in a way that is easily digested.  It is necessary to the story of Hudner and Brown, but it does give you a different feel for the world we live in today.

The second thing that struck me was the gist of the story itself.  Tom Hudner and Jesse Brown are heroes.  There is no other way to say it, but saying it that way still doesn’t quite do them justice.  When you read this, and I beg you to do so, you will understand.  These are both the kind of people that you hope exist in the real world even as you don’t think it’s possible.  I am proud to live in a world and country that produced men such as these.

 

Leave a Reply

