The Run

Written by Stuart Woods

the-run

2-stars

This book felt like an episode of a serial TV show like NCIS, only not quite as good.  Maybe like Hawaii 5-0.  Enjoyable enough characters, enough action to keep it interesting, and will be continued next week at the same day and time.

I don’t actually know where I got this book.  I probably snagged it from my grandparent’s bookshelf or in the bargain bin at Barnes & Noble.  I didn’t realize that it was part of a series, and I’ll give Woods credit that I didn’t feel like I missed anything by not reading the prior books.  But because The Run is number five in the series, you should take my review with a grain of salt.  Some of the things I didn’t like about this book may be due to its place in the series.

I thought the characters were interesting.  They all seemed a bit superficial, almost caricatures of political personas.  They were believable enough, and, in fact, the most outrageous of them actually seemed to be aware of the part they played.  So I didn’t really have a problem with it because it allowed me to understand the people and their motivations better than I would otherwise have at this point in the series.

The beginning of the book was all politics.  What will Will Lee do until he run for President?  It had me on the edge of my seat…with boredom.  It took a really long time to meet an antagonist.  I won’t tell you anything about that person because I really hate spoilers, but it was to the point that I wondered if the book would be one long treatise on fictional political strategy.

When it finally ended, it just happened.  One minute, things are actually happening.  The next, it’s done.  But not really.  The ending is where I realized that Woods clearly means to write another book in the series.  This one ended.  But not really.  Stay tuned for next week…

This isn’t a book that I had to force myself to read (I’ve got one of those that’s been limping along since November), but I was happy to be done with it so I could move on to something else.

Leave a Reply

